Review – So Material a Change

Instagram 6-21-22

So Material a Change

by Amy D’Orazio

So Material a Change

Genres: Regency, Romance, Pride and Prejudice Variation
Release Date: October 11, 2021
Pages: 382
Purchase from: Amazon
My Rating: ★★★★☆

“If the thought of us being destined for one another is what caused you to laugh, then I shall laugh with you. Ours is more a story of mutual desperation than of love.”

MATRIMONY IS THE LAST THING on Elizabeth Bennet’s mind when she arrives at Netherfield Park to tend to her ill sister. When proud Mr Darcy acts rashly to thwart a compromise and tells her that the entire household believes they are engaged, she dismisses him outright and refuses his offer of marriage.

BUT MORE SURPRISES AWAIT her at Longbourn. Mr Collins is ready with an offer of marriage and it is not only her mother who thinks it a fine match; Mr Bennet is willing to press the point until Elizabeth makes clear such a connexion is impossible—because she has accepted an offer of marriage from Mr Darcy.

IT IS AN INAUSPICIOUS BEGINNING, an engagement neither desires, driven to by the machinations of others. Yet what begins as a forced alliance soon changes into something quite different. Will it be enough to lead them into love?


Review

For my personal taste, books by Amy D’Orazio are hit or miss. So Material a Change (SMAC) is definitely a hit. It’s an interesting read with a good portrayal of Elizabeth. I love Darcy’s cousin Saye (who I believe is Ms. D’Orazio’s original character), and he was as fabulous in SMAC as he is in her other books.

I don’t want to share any spoilers, but I’ll say that the situation that arises with Mr. Collins is not one I’ve seen before, so points for originality there.

I would have liked more information about Georgiana and how her story progressed. And some more information about Elizabeth’s more refined (read: London appropriate) appearance and wardrobe would have been nice as well. Neither of those arcs felt properly completed.

That said, there was a lovely happy ending, and, honestly, space for a sequel. Fans of Pride and Prejudice variations would likely enjoy this one, especially if they have Kindle Unlimited and can read it for free.


About the Author

Amy D’Orazio is a long time devotee of Jane Austen and fiction related to her characters. She began writing her own little stories to amuse herself during hours spent at sports practices and the like and soon discovered a passion for it. By far, however, the thing she loves most is the connections she has made with readers and other writers of Austenesque fiction. A

Amy currently lives in Pittsburgh with her husband and daughters, as well as three Jack Russell terriers who often make appearances (in a human form) in her book.

Author links: Website | Goodreads | Amazon Author Page


NOTE: This review is based on an eBook I borrowed from Amazon on May 16, 2022 as part of the Kindle Unlimited program.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.